Award Details


Crabtree Award

Nomination/Submission Deadline: 04 Jan 2019

Award Description

The SAA presents the Crabtree Award annually to an outstanding avocational archaeologist in remembrance of the singular contributions of Don Crabtree. Nominees should have made significant contributions to advance understandings of local, regional, or national archaeology through excavation, research, publication, site or collections preservation, collaboration with the professional community, and/or public outreach.

Who Is Eligible to Submit Nominations or Apply for the Award

Anyone may submit a nomination. The committee does not accept self-nominations. Awardees may be members or nonmembers of the SAA.

Nomination/Submission Materials Required

Nominators should submit a current curriculum vita and/or succinct summary of relevant accomplishments, a letter of nomination, and letters of support.

Other Special Requirements


Nature of Award (e.g. monetary, medal, symposium)

The awardee is recognized by the SAA through a plaque presented during the business meeting held at the Annual Meeting, a citation in The SAA Archaeological Record, and acknowledgment on the awards page of the SAA Website.

Current Committee Charge

The committee solicits nominations and selects recipients for the Crabtree Award. The award, given in remembrance of Don Crabtree, is annually presented to an outstanding avocational archaeologist.

Committee Composition

Committee composition is one chair and at least four members.

Term Length

Term length is three years. Individuals ending their terms cycle off the committee at the close of the Business Meeting held during the annual SAA Meeting, and new appointees begin their terms at this time.

Award Cycle

Not applicable.

Committee Chair and End of Term

Gary Warrick [2021]

Committee Chair Contact Information

Gary Warrick [2021], email:

Committee Members and Ends of Terms

Virginia L. Butler [2021],  August G. Costa [2020], Karen Kinnear [2021], Guadalupe Sanchez Miranda [2020], Mark F. Seeman [2020]

Selection or Evaluation Criteria

The Crabtree Award Committee evaluates nominations based on the evidence for significant contributions to advance understandings of local, regional, or national archaeology through excavation, research, publication, site or collections preservation, collaboration with the professional community, and/or public outreach.

Committee Deliberation Process (e.g. dates, venue)

The committee reads and evaluates all nominations after the submission date. The committee chair takes an email vote before the end of January, and an awardee is selected through a simple majority vote. The chair then prepares the award texts for the SAA Awards Committee.

2019 Peter Boyle and Janine Hernbode
Peter Boyle and Janine Hernbrode have followed their passion as avocational archaeologists and conducted research to document, interpret, and preserve rock art sites in Arizona over the last 15 years, involving numerous volunteers from the Arizona Archaeological and Historical Society (AAHS). They have made significant contributions to our understanding and preservation of rock art of the American Southwest through their research, scholarly publications (15) and conference presentations, and have promoted archaeology as executives for the AAHS and Archaeology Southwest. Since 2009, Dr. Boyle and Ms. Hernbrode have engaged tirelessly in collaborative archaeological survey and site documentation and publication, creating an inventory of thousands of rock art features in southern Arizona. Peter Boyle and Janine Hernbrode are highly deserving of the Crabtree Award for their exemplary archaeological teamwork that engages both the interested public and professional archaeologists. 

2018 James Warnica
James Warnica has spent a half-century documenting prehistoric sites and conducting archaeological research in the New Mexico and adjoining states.  As a teenager he began collecting artifacts near Portales, NM.  As Mr. Warnica’s interests matured, he became a bridge between the region’s avocational and professional communities, particular on Paleoindian research.  Co-founder of the El Llano Archaeological Society, he guided it in collaboration with two generations of Paleoindian archaeologists and was instrumental in preservation of threatened collections and records from Blackwater Draw, the Clovis type site. Mr. Warnica published seven scholarly papers between 1961 and 2017 (two in American Antiquity), culminating in a major co-authored monograph on Blackwater Draw.  He has reported dozens of archaeological sites in New Mexico.  Overall, James Warnica’s range of efforts and committed engagement with the professional archaeological community and general public on behalf of Paleoindian and later prehistory make him a deserving recipient of the Crabtree Award.

2017 Daniel Wendt
2016 Steven Freers
2015 Tom Middlebrook
2014 Francis H. "Frankie" Snow
2013 Edward and Diane Stasack
2012 John T. Dowd
2011 George Poetschat
2010 Larry Kinsella
2009 Leslie Paul Tanner
2007 Jay C. Blaine
2006 Karl Herbert Mayer
2005 Eugene C. Winter Jr.
2004 Robert Patten
2003 Dr. Guillermo Mata Amado
2002 Richard A. Bice
2001 John D. "Jack" Holland
2000 Richard P. Mason
1999 Gene L. Titmus
1998 Reca Jones
1997 Sidney Merrick Wheeler (posthumous) and Georgia Nancy Wheeler Felts
1996 James H. Word
1995 Jeff Carskadden
1994 Leland W. Patterson
1993 Mary Elizabeth Good
1992 Stuart W. Conner
1991 James Pendergast
1990 Ben C. McCary1
989 J. B. Sollberger
1988 Julian Dodge Hayden
1987 Leonard W. Blake
1985 Clarence H. Webb, MD