Get Involved Locally

State Archaeologists and State Historic Preservation Officers answer archaeology questions regarding their state, including opportunities to get involved in local archaeology. Their web sites usually include information about state archaeology activities, education resources, and fieldwork opportunities. If your state has an annual archaeology celebration, that may provide events and activities close to home. Different states also have local archaeological societies for both professional and avocational archaeologists, many of whom are part of SAA's Council of Allied Societies.

SAA also maintains the Government Affairs Network of State Representatives (GANSRs). The GANSR system can help you understand local legislation and regulatory issues affecting archaeology in the United States. Get involved in advocating for archaeology in your state!

Network of State/Provincial Archaeology Education Coordinators

Another point of contact for local information is the Network of State/Provincial Archaeology Education Coordinators. These are SAA members across the United States and Canada who can help introduce you to the archaeology in your area. This network of archaeologists developed out of the SAA's Public Education Committee. Contact the individuals below to find out how to get involved locally.

United States

Lindsey Gordon
Moundville Archaeological Park 
The University of Alabama
Phone: 205-371-8732
Email: fgordon@ua.edu

Fran Seager-Boss
Public Education Program
Alaska Archaeological Association
Phone: 907-982-0709
Email: fseagerboss@gci.net or fseagerboss@kniktribe.org

Currently Vacant

Melissa Zabecki
State Archeologist
Arkansas Archeological Survey
Phone: 479-575-6550
Email: mzabeck@uark.edu

Edward J. Knell (Southern California)
Professor
California State University, Fullerton
Phone: 657-278-5076
Email: eknell@fullerton.edu

Kristin Donner (Southern California)
Adjunct Faculty
Laguna College of Art + Design
Co-Executive Producer in Development
Nickelodeon Animation Studio
Email: KristinAnneDonner@gmail.com

Gregory G. White (Northern California)
Principal Investigator
Sub-Terra Heritage Resource Investigations
Phone: 530-513-1943
Email: gwhite@sub-terraheritage.com

Emily M. Long
Adjunct Instructor/CRM Archaeologist
Colorado Mesa University
Email:
elong@coloradomesa.edu

Becca Simon
Assistant State  Archaeologist & Program for Avocational Archaeological Certification (PAAC) State Coordinator
History Colorado
Email: rebecca.simon@state.co.us

Catherine Labadia
State Historic Preservation Office
Phone: 860-500-2329
Email: Catherine.Labadia@ct.gov

Bill Farley
Southern Connecticut State University
Phone: 203-392-5676
Emails: Farleyw1@southernct.edu

John W. Martin
Delaware Department of Transportation
Phone: 302-760-2189
Email: john.w.martin@delaware.gov

Ruth Trocolli
City Archaeologist
DC Historic Preservation Office
Phone: 202-442-8836
Email: ruth.trocolli@dc.gov

Barbara A. Clark
Director, North Central and Northwest Regions
Florida Public Archaeology Network
Phone: 850-270-7556
Email: BarbaraAClark@uwf.edu

Kate Deeley
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Georgia Gwinnett College
E-mail: kdeeley@ggc.edu

Tanya L. Lee-Greig

ʻĀina Archaeology
Phone: 808-593-3020
Email: tanya@ainaarch.com

Samantha Blatt
Assistant Professor
Idaho State University
Phone: 208-573-2721
Email: blatsam2@isu.edu

Karen Poulson (Chicago-area)
Phone: 773-810-9620
Email: klpoulson@netzero.com

Eve Hargrave (Central Illinois)
Email: eve.hargrave@gmail.com

Amy Johnson
State Archaeologist and Archaeology Outreach Coordinator
Division of Historic Preservation and Archaeology
Phone: 317-232-6982
Email: ajohnson@dnr.IN.gov

Elizabeth Reetz
Director of Strategic Initiatives
Office of the State Archaeologist
Phone: 319-384-0561
Fax: 319-384-0768
Email: elizabeth-reetz@uiowa.edu

Nikki Klarmann
Kansas Historical Society
Phone: 785-272-8681 x266
Email: Nikki.Klarmann@ks.gov

A. Gwynn Henderson
Education Director
Kentucky Archaeological Survey
Western Kentucky University
Phone: 270-745-2217
Email: gwynn.henderson@wku.edu

Maegan A. Smith
Archaeology Outreach Coordinator
Louisiana Division of Archaeology
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism
Phone: 225-342-8166
Email: msmith@crt.la.gov

Gemma Hudgell
Northeast Archaeology Research Center
Farmington, ME
Phone: 207-806-4032
Email: hudgell@nearchaeology.com

Sarah N. Janesko
Email: sarahjanesko@gmail.com

Ellen Savulis
Phone: 413-687-7571
Email: ellensavyyy@comcast.net

Amanda Gronhovd
State Archaeologist
Minnesota Office of the State Archaeologist
Phone: 651-725-2411
Email: Amanda.Gronhovd@state.mn.us

Currently Vacant

Michael J. Meyer
Senior Historic Preservation Specialist
Missouri Department of Transportation
Phone: 573-526-3560
Fax: 573-526-0068
Email: Michael.Meyer@modot.mo.gov

Kaitlyn Davis
PaleoWest
Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies at the University of Arkansas
Phone: 724-961-3789
Email: Kaitlyn.E.Davis@colorado.edu

Rebecca Wiewel
Archaeologist and Education and Outreach Coordinator
Midwest Archeological Center
Phone: 402-437-5392 Ext. 145
Email: rebecca_wiewel@nps.gov

Dave Williams
State Archeologist
History Nebraska
Phone: 402-219-2759
Email: dave.williams@nebraska.gov

Anna Camp
Curator in Anthropology
Nevada State Museum
Email:
annajeannecamp@gmail.com

Mark Doperalski
State Archaeologist
NH Division of Historical Resources
Phone: 603-271-6433
Email: mark.doperalski@dncr.nh.gov

David C. Mudge
Burlington Office of Emergency Management
Phone: 609-828-8680
Email: arkydave@aol.com

Mollie Toll
Phone: 505-204-6210
Email:
mollie.toll@state.nm.us

Mara T. Horowitz
Purchase College SUNY
Phone: 646-924-8703
Email: mara.horowitz@purchase.edu

Mary Beth Fitts
Assistant State Archaeologist
Office of State Archaeology
North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
Phone: 919-807-6554
Email: MaryBeth.Fitts@ncdcr.gov

Sarah Baer Sappington
Director, Bismarck Office
SWCA Environmental Consultants
Phone: 701-258-6622
Email: SBaer@swca.com

Linda Pansing
Curator of Archaeology
Ohio History Connection
Phone: 614-298-2061
Email: lpansing@ohiohistory.org

Meghan Dudley
Email: meghan.dudley@ou.edu

Allison McLeod
Afendras Archaeology, LLC
Email: allison@afendras-crm.com

Bonnie Pitblado
Email: bonnie.pitblado@ou.edu

Virginia Butler
Portland State University
Phone: 503-725-3303
Email: butlerv@pdx.edu

Beverly Chiarulli
President
Pennsylvania Archaeological Council
Research Associate
Carnegie Museum of Natural History
Phone: 412-967-9482
Email: Bev@chiarulli.net

Paola Schiappacasse
University of Puerto Rico
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Phone: 787-764-0000 ext. 87697
Email: paola.schiappacasse@upr.edu

Kris Bovy
University of Rhode Island
Phone: 401-874-4143
Email: kbovy@uri.edu

Erik Shofner
Executive Director
South Carolina Archaeology Public Outreach Division
Phone: 843-319-7597
Email: scapod@gmail.com

Meg Gaillard
Archaeologist
South Carolina Heritage Trust
Land, Water and Conservation Division
South Carolina Department of Natural Resources
Phone: 803-528-1455
Email: GaillardM@dnr.sc.gov

Anthony M. Krus
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
University of South Dakota
Email: Tony.Krus@usd.edu

James Davenport
Phone: 605-274-5499
Email: james.davenport@augie.edu

Arthur A. Demarest
Director
Vanderbilt Programs of Mesoamerican Archaeology and Community Development
Phone: 615-530-1026
Email: aademarest@gmail.com

Kimberly C. Kasper PhD 
Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology and Sociology
Rhodes College
Phone: 413-244-4085
Email: kasperk@rhodes.edu

Veronica M. Arias
Curator of Anthropology and Natural History
Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum
West Texas A&M University
Phone: 806-651-5231
Email: varias@pphm.wtamu.edu

Tim Riley
Curator of Archaeology
Prehistoric Museum
Utah State University Eastern
Phone: 435-613-5290
Email: Tim.Riley@usu.edu

Jess Robinson
State Archaeologist
State of Vermont
Division for Historic Preservation
Phone: 802-272-2509
Email: jess.robinson@vermont.gov

Angela Labrador
President
Vermont Archaeological Society
Phone: 413-325-5548
Email: angela@vtarchaeology.org

Elizabeth Moore
Department of Historic Resources
Phone: (804) 482-6446  
Email: elizabeth.moore@dhr.virginia.gov

Bernard Means
Virtual Curation Lab
Virginia Commonwealth University
Phone: 804-827-1985
Fax: 804-828-0127
Email: BKMeans@vcu.edu

Currently Vacant

Megan E. Leight
Teaching Assistant Professor of Art History
West Virginia University
Phone: 304-293-8370
Email: MLeight@mail.wvu.edu

Olivia A. Jones
West Virginia University
Grave Creek Mound Archaeological Complex
Phone: 304-843-4128
Email: olivia.a.jones@wv.gov

Bonnie L. Jancik
Mississippi Valley Archaeology Center
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
Phone: 608-785-6473
Fax: 608-785-6474
Email: bjancik@uwlax.edu

Amanda Castañeda
State Historic Preservation Office
Phone: 307-766-5366
Email: amanda.castaneda@wyo.gov

Spencer R. Pelton
Wyoming State Archaeologist
Phone: 307-766-5564
Email: spencer.pelton@wyo.gov

Canada

Emily Wilkerson
Golder Associates Ltd.
Vancouver, BC
Phone: 604-379-7214
Email: emily_wilkerson@golder.com

Rachel Kulick
University of Toronto
Email: rachel.kulick@utoronto.ca