Get Involved Locally

State Archaeologists and State Historic Preservation Officers answer archaeology questions regarding their state, including opportunities to get involved in local archaeology. Their web sites usually include information about state archaeology activities, education resources, and fieldwork opportunities. If your state has an annual archaeology celebration, that may provide events and activities close to home. Different states also have local archaeological societies for both professional and avocational archaeologists, many of whom are part of SAA's Council of Allied Societies.

SAA also maintains the Government Affairs Network of State Representatives (GANSRs). The GANSR system can help you understand local legislation and regulatory issues affecting archaeology in the United States. Get involved in advocating for archaeology in your state!

Network of State/Provincial Archaeology Education Coordinators

Another point of contact for local information is the Network of State/Provincial Archaeology Education Coordinators. These are SAA members across the United States and Canada who can help introduce you to the archaeology in your area. This network of archaeologists developed out of the SAA's Public Education Committee. Contact the individuals below to find out how to get involved locally.

United States

Lindsey Gordon
Office of Archaeological Research
The University of Alabama
Phone: 205-371-8700
Email: fgordon@ua.edu

Fran Seager-Boss
Public Education Program
Alaska Archaeological Association
Phone: 907-982-0709
Email: fseagerboss@gci.net or fseagerboss@kniktribe.org

Currently Vacant

Melissa Zabecki
Education Outreach Coordinator
Arkansas Archeological Survey
Phone: 479-575-6550
Email: mzabeck@uark.edu

Edward J. Knell
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
California State University, Fullerton
Phone: 657-278-5076
Email: eknell@fullerton.edu

Emily M. Long
Adjunct Instructor/CRM Archaeologist
Colorado Mesa University
Email:
elong@coloradomesa.edu

Becca Simon
Assistant State  Archaeologist & Program for Avocational Archaeological Certification (PAAC) State Coordinator
History Colorado
Email: rebecca.simon@state.co.us

Currently Vacant

Heidi E. Krofft
DelDOT Archaeologist
Delaware Department of Transportation
Phone: 302-760-2125
Fax: 302-739-8282
Email: Heidi.Krofft@state.de.us

Ruth Trocolli
City Archaeologist
DC Historic Preservation Office
Phone: 202-442-8836
Email: ruth.trocolli@dc.gov

Barbara A. Clark
Director, North Central and Northwest Regions
Florida Public Archaeology Network
Phone: 850-877-2206
Email: BarbaraAClark@uwf.edu

Kate Deeley
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Georgia Gwinnett College
E-mail: kdeeley@ggc.edu


Melissa Kirkendall
Professor of Anthropology
University of Hawai'i Maui College
Phone: 808-984-3235
Email: kirkenda@hawaii.edu

Samantha Blatt
Assistant Professor
Idaho State University
Phone: 208-573-2721
Email: blatsam2@isu.edu

Karen Poulson (Chicago-area)
Phone: 773-810-9620
Email: klpoulson@netzero.com

Eve Hargrave (Central Illinois)
Email: eve.hargrave@gmail.com

Amy Johnson
State Archaeologist and Archaeology Outreach Coordinator
Division of Historic Preservation and Archaeology
Phone: 317-232-6982
Email: ajohnson@dnr.IN.gov

Elizabeth Reetz
Director of Strategic Initiatives
Office of the State Archaeologist
Phone: 319-384-0561
Fax: 319-384-0768
Email: elizabeth-reetz@uiowa.edu

Virginia A. Wulfkuhle
Kansas Anthropological Association
Phone: 785-843-0846
Email: virginia.wulfkuhle@gmail.com

A. Gwynn Henderson
Kentucky Archaeological Survey
Phone: 859-257-1919 or 859-257-1944
Fax: 859-323-1968
Email: aghend2@uky.edu

Nicolas Laracuente
Kentucky Heritage Council
Site Protection Program Administrator
Phone: 502-892-3614
Email: Nicolas.laracuente@ky.gov

Valerie Feathers
Archaeology Outreach Coordinator
Louisiana Division of Archaeology
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism
Phone: 225-342-8166
Email: vfeathers@crt.la.gov

Gemma Hudgell
Northeast Archaeology Research Center
Farmington, ME
Phone: 207-806-4032
Email: hudgell@nearchaeology.com

Sarah N. Janesko
Lab Director
Veterans Curation Program
Phone: 301-641-7717
Email: sarahjanesko@gmail.com

Ellen Savulis
Phone: 413-687-7571
Email: ellensavyyy@comcast.net

Amanda Gronhovd
State Archaeologist
Minnesota Office of the State Archaeologist
Phone: 651-725-2411
Email: Amanda.Gronhovd@state.mn.us

Tony Boudreaux
Director
Center for Archaeological Research
University of Mississippi
Phone: 662-915-7339
Email: tboud@olemiss.edu

Michael J. Meyer
Senior Historic Preservation Specialist
Missouri Department of Transportation
Phone: 573-526-3560
Fax: 573-526-0068
Email: Michael.Meyer@modot.mo.gov

Crystal Alegria
Project Archaeology/Montana Site Stewardship Program
Montana State University
Phone: 406-994-6925
Email: calegria@montana.edu

Dawn Bringelson
Archeologist/Volunteer and Outreach Coordinator
Midwest Archeological Center
Phone: 402-437-5392 ext. 105
Email: Dawn_Bringelson@nps.gov

Courtney Ziska
Highway Archeology Program Manager
History Nebraska
Phone:
402-471-3233
Email: courtney.ziska@nebraska.gov

Anna Camp
Curator in Anthropology
Nevada State Museum
Email:
annajeannecamp@gmail.com

Mark Doperalski
State Archaeologist
NH Division of Historical Resources
Phone: 603-271-6433
Email: mark.doperalski@dncr.nh.gov

David C. Mudge
Burlington Office of Emergency Management
Phone: 609-828-8680
Email: arkydave@aol.com

Mollie Toll
Phone: 505-204-6210
Email:
mollie.toll@state.nm.us

Daniel E. Mazeau
Principal Investigator (Archaeology) and Cultural Education Specialist
Cultural Resource Survey Program
New York State Museum
Phone: 518-408-1722
Email: dmazeau@mail.nysed.gov

Mary Beth Fitts
Assistant State Archaeologist
Office of State Archaeology
North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
Phone: 919-807-6554
Email: MaryBeth.Fitts@ncdcr.gov

Sarah Baer Sappington
Director, Bismarck Office
SWCA Environmental Consultants
Phone: 701-258-6622
Email: SBaer@swca.com

Brad Lepper
Curator of Archaeology
Ohio History Connection
Phone: 614-298-2064
Email: blepper@ohiohistory.org

Meghan Dudley
Email: meghan.dudley@ou.edu

Allison Douglas
Email: allison.douglas@ou.edu

Bonnie Pitblado
Email: bonnie.pitblado@ou.edu

Currently Vacant

Beverly Chiarulli
President
Pennsylvania Archaeological Council
Research Associate
Carnegie Museum of Natural History
Phone: 412-967-9482
Email: Bev@chiarulli.net

Paola Schiappacasse
University of Puerto Rico
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Phone: 787-764-0000 ext. 87697
Email: paola.schiappacasse@upr.edu

Timothy Ives
State Archaeologist
Rhode Island Historical Preservation and Heritage Commission
Phone: 401-222-4139
Email: Timothy.Ives@preservation.ri.gov

Erik Shofner
Executive Director
South Carolina Archaeology Public Outreach Division
Phone: 843-319-7597
Email: scapod@gmail.com

Meg Gaillard
Archaeologist
South Carolina Heritage Trust
Land, Water and Conservation Division
South Carolina Department of Natural Resources
Phone: 803-528-1455
Email: GaillardM@dnr.sc.gov

Mike Fosha
Assistant State Archaeologist
South Dakota State Historical Society
Phone: 605-394-1936
Email: Mike.fosha@state.sd.us

Michael C. Moore
State Archaeologist and Director
Tennessee Division of Archaeology
Phone: 615-687-4776
Email: Mike.C.Moore@tn.gov

Rebecca (Becky) Shelton
Regional Archeologist/Project Reviewer
Texas Historical Commission
Phone: 512-463-2276

Veronica M. Arias
Curator of Anthropology and Natural History
Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum
West Texas A&M University
Phone: 806-651-5231
Email: varias@pphm.wtamu.edu

Tim Riley
Curator of Archaeology
Prehistoric Museum
Utah State University Eastern
Phone: 435-613-5290
Email: Tim.Riley@usu.edu

Jess Robinson
State Archaeologist
State of Vermont
Division for Historic Preservation
Phone: 802-272-2509
Email: jess.robinson@vermont.gov

Angela Labrador
Vice President
Vermont Archaeological Society
Phone: 413-325-5548
Email: angela.labrador@coherit.com

Elizabeth Moore
Curator of Archaeology
Virginia Museum of Natural History
Email: Elizabeth.Moore@vmnh.virginia.gov

Bernard Means
Virtual Curation Lab
Virginia Commonwealth University
Phone: 804-827-1985
Fax: 804-828-0127
Email: BKMeans@vcu.edu

Currently Vacant

Currently Vacant

Bonnie L. Jancik
Mississippi Valley Archaeology Center
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
Phone: 608-785-6473
Fax: 608-785-6474
Email: bjancik@uwlax.edu

Judy Wolf
State Historic Preservation Office
Phone: 307-766-5366
Fax: 307-766-4262
Email: jkwolf@uwyo.edu

Marieka Arksy
Collections Manager
University of Wyoming Archaeological Repository
Phone: 307-766-3671
Email: marieka.arksey@wyo.gov

Canada

Emily Wilkerson
Golder Associates Ltd.
Vancouver, BC
Phone: 604-379-7214
Email: emily_wilkerson@golder.com

Rachel Kulick
Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Art
University of Toronto
Email: rachel.kulick@mail.utoronto.ca