Public Education Committee
Network of State and Provincial Archaeology Education Coordinators

 
The links below are an aid for finding information about archaeology or contacting an archaeologist in your area. Click on the state (or on "Canada") for links to regional archaeology information.

 

Facilitators: Meredith Hardy and Jakob Sedig

:

 

Alabama:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Philip J. Carr
University of South Alabama
HUMB 34
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Mobile AL 36688-0002
Tel: 251-460-6907
Fax: 251-460-7925
pcarr@jaguar1.usouthal.edu

Linda Derry
Old Cahawba Archaeological Pk
719 Tremont St
Selma AL 36701-5446
Tel: 334-875-2529
Fax: 334-877-4253
Cahawba@bellsouth.net

Alaska:

Jennifer Tobey

Cultural Resource Specialist

ASRC Energy Services

2700 Gambell, Suite 200

Anchorage, AK  99503

Tel:  907-339-5481

Fax:  907-339-5475

Jennifer.Tobey@lynx.asrcenergy.com

Arizona:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ann Valdo Howard
Public Archaeology Programs Manager/
Archaeological Compliance Specialist
Arizona State Historic Preservation Office
1300 W. Washington
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Tel: 602-542-7138
Fax: 602-542-4180
avh2@azstateparks.gov

Arkansas:

 

 

 

 

 

 

California:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Edward J Knell, Ph.D., RPA

Assistant Professor

Department of Anthropology

California State University, Fullerton

800 N. State College Blvd.

Fullerton, CA 92831

Tel: 657-278-5076

eknell@fullerton.edu


Colorado:

          Richard Wilshusen

          State Archaeologist/Deputy SHPO

          Office of Archaeology and Historic Preservation

          History Colorado - The Colorado Historical Society

          1200 Braodway

          Denver, CO 80203

          Tel:  303-866-3392 (OAHP desk)

          303-866-2736 (direct line)

           Richard.Wilshusen@state.co.us

Connecticut:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nicholas F. Bellantoni
Office of State Archaeology, U-4214
University of Connecticut
Storrs CT 06269-4214
Tel: 860-486-5248
Fax: 860-486-6953
nbell@uconnvm.uconn.edu
Nicholas.Bellantoni@uconn.edu

Delaware:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kevin W. Cunningham
Delaware Dept of Transportation
PO Box 778
800 Bay Road
Dover DE 19903-0778
Tel: 302-760-2125
Fax: 302-739-2251
Kevin.Cunningham@state.de.us

District of Columbia:

Ruth Trocolli, Ph.D

City Archaeologist

DC Historic Preservation Office

1100 4th St. SW, Suite E650

Washington, DC 20024

202-442-8836

ruth.trocolli@dc.gov

http://planning.dc.gov/hp

 

Florida:

Emily M. Powlen, M.S., RPA

Principal Investigator, Public Interpretation

Southeastern Archeological Research, Inc. (SEARCH)
Gainesville Area Office

315 NW 138th Terrace

Newberry, FL 32669

(352) 333-0049

(352) 333-0069 (fax)

emily@searchinc.com

Georgia:

 

          Rita Elliott
          Education Coordinator
          The LAMAR Institute
           P.O. Box 2992
          Savannah, GA 31402
          Tel: (706) 341-7797
          ritafelliott@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

Hawaii:

Melissa Kirkendall
Professor of Anthropology

University of Hawaii Maui College

310 Kaahumanu Ave

Kahului, Hawaii

Tel:  808-984-3235

kirkenda@hawaii.edu

Idaho:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mary Anne Davis

Associate State Archaeologist
Idaho State Historical Society

210 Main St
Boise ID 83702-7264
Tel: 208-334-3847
Fax: 208-334-2775
MaryAnne.Davis@ishs.idaho.gov

Illinois:

 

 

 

 

 

 

IllinoisChicago area

Karen Poulson, M.A. RPA
Tel: 773-810-9620
klpoulson@netzero.com


IllinoisDownstate

Mary Pirkl
Center for American Archeology
Kampsville Archeological Center
PO Box 366
Kampsville IL 62053
Tel: 618-653-4316
marypirkl@caa-archeology.org

Indiana:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amy Johnson
Senior Research Archaeologist and Archaeology Outreach Coordinator
Division of Historic Preservation and Archaeology
402 West Washington St., Room W274
Indianapolis IN 46204-2739
Tel: 317-232-6982
ajohnson@dnr.IN.gov

Iowa:

 

 

 

 

              Elizabeth Reetz

              Education and Outreach Program Director
              Office of the State Archaeologist
              700 Clinton Street Building
              University of Iowa
              Iowa City IA 52242
              Tel: 319-384-0561
              Fax: 319-384-0768
              elizabeth-reetz@uiowa.edu

 

Kansas:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Virginia A. Wulfkuhle
Public Archeologist
Cultural Resources Division
Kansas State Historical Society
6425 SW 6th Ave
Topeka KS 66615-1099
Voice:  785-272-8681 ext. 266
Fax:     785-272-8682
Email:  vwulfkuhle@kshs.org

Kentucky:

 

 

 

 

 

 

A. Gwynn Henderson
Kentucky Archaeological Survey
1020A Export St.
Lexington KY 40506-9854
Tel: 859-257-1919 or 859-257-1944
Fax: 859-323-1968
aghend2@uky.edu

Louisiana:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nancy Hawkins
Office of Cultural Development
PO Box 44247
Division of Archaeology
Baton Rouge LA 70804-4247
Tel: 225-342-8170
Fax: 225-342-8173
nhawkins@crt.state.la.us

Maine:

Maryland:

Eleanor King, RPA

Howard University

Department of Sociology and Anthropology

DGH 207, 2441 6th Street NW

Washington

DC, 20059-0001

Tel: 202-806-5255

emking@howard.edu

Massachusetts:

 

Michigan:

 

Stacy Tchorzynski

State Historic Preservation Office and Department of Natural Resources

702 W. Kalamazoo, P.O. Box 30740

Lansing, MI 48909-8240

Tel:517-373-6358

tchorzynskis@michigan.gov

www.michigan.gov/shpo


Minnesota:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scott Anfinson
Minnesota State Archaeologist
Ft. Snelling History Center
St. Paul, MN 55111
612-725-2411
scott.anfinson@state.mn.us

Mississippi:

Sarah Koeppel
Archaeologist
US Army Corps of Engineers, Vicksburg District
4155 East Clay Street
Vicksburg MS 39183
Tel: 601-631-5894

Fax: 601-631-5459

Sarah.Y.Koeppel@usace.army.mil

Missouri:

Montana:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rebecca S. Timmons
Forest Archaeologist
Kootenai National Forest, Supervisor's Office
1101 US Highway 2 West
Libby MT 59923
Tel: 406-283-7666
Fax: 406-283-7709
btimmons@fs.fed.us

Halcyon La Point
Custer National Forest
1310 Main St
PO Box 50760
Billings MT 59105-1742
Tel: 405-657-6361
Fax: 405-657-6444
hlapoint@fs.fed.us

Nebraska:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dawn Bringelson
Archeologist/ Volunteer and Outreach Coordinator
Midwest Archeological Center
100 Centennial Mall North, Room 474
Lincoln, NE 68508
(402) 437-5392 ext. 105
Dawn_Bringelson@nps.gov
www.cr.nps.gov/mwac

Nevada:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anne DuBarton
Newfields
8250 W Charleston Blvd
Suite 100
Las Vegas NV 89117
Tel: 702-952-2072
Fax: 702-248-3883
adubarton@newfields.com

New Hampshire:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Richard Boisvert
State Archaeologist
NH Div. of Historical Resources
19 Pillsbury St. 2nd Floor
Concord NH 03301-3570
Tel: 603-271-6433
Fax: 603-271-3433
richard.a.boisvert@dcr.nh.gov

New Jersey:

 

 

 

 

 

 

David C. Mudge
New Jersey Department of Transportation
2021 Old York Rd
Burlington NJ 08016-9738
Tel: 609-530-2987
Fax: 609-530-5305
arkydave@aol.com

New Mexico:

           Tonya Fallis

           Archaeological Records Management Section

           New Mexico State Historic Preservation Division

           708 Camino Lejo

           Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504

           Tel:  505-476-1286

           Fax: 505-476-1320

           tonya.fallis@state.nm.us

 

New York:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Daniel E. Mazeau

Principal Investigator (Archaeology) and

Cultural Education Specialist

Cultural Resource Survey Program
New York State Museum
Albany, New York  12230
Tel: 518-408-1722
dmazeau@mail.nysed.gov

North Carolina:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Linda F. Carnes-McNaughton, RPA
Archaeologist and Curator
Department of the Army
Directorate of Public Works (IMSE BRG PW)
HQ Fort Bragg Garrison Command (ABN)
Installation Management Agency
Bldg 3-1631 Butner Rd.
Fort Bragg NC 28310
Tel: 910-396-6680
Linda.carnesmcnaughton@us.army.mil

North Dakota:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Melinda Leach
Professor, Dept. of Anthropology
PO Box 8374

University of North Dakota

Stop 8374, 236 Centennial Dr.
Grand Forks ND 58202
Tel: 701-777-3697
melinda.leach@email.und.edu

Ohio:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linda Whitman
University of Akron
Dept of Classical Studies
Anthropology and Archaeology
Olin Hall Rm 237
Akron OH 44325-1910
Tel: 330-972-6179
Fax: 330-972-2338
whitman@uakron.edu

Oklahoma:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Robert L. Brooks
University of Oklahoma
Archeological Survey
111 E Chesapeake, Bldg 134
Norman OK 73019-0575
Tel: 405-325-7211
Fax: 405-325-7604
rbrooks@ou.edu

Oregon:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Virginia Parks
Region 1/8 Cultural Resources Team
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
20555 SW Gerda Lane
Sherwood OR 97140
Tel: 503-625-4377
Fax: 503-625-4887
Virginia_Parks@fws.gov

Pennsylvania:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beverly Chiarulli
Dept. of Anthropology
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
McElhaney Hall G-12
Indiana, PA 15206
Tel: 724-357-2659
Fax: 724-357-7637
bevc@iup.edu

Puerto Rico:

Rhode Island:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alan D. Leveille
Public Archaeology Lab Inc.
210 Lonsdale Ave
Pawtucket RI 02860-3546
Tel: 401-728-8780
Fax: 401-728-8784
aleveille@palinc.com

South Carolina:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gail E. Wagner
University of South Carolina
Dept. of Anthropology
Columbia SC 29208-0001
Tel: 803-777-6548
Fax: 803-777-0259
gail.wagner@sc.edu

South Dakota:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mike Fosha
State Archaeological Research Center
PO Box 1257
Rapid City SD 57709-1257
Tel: 605-394-1936
Fax: 605-394-1941
mike.fosha@state.sd.us

Tennessee:

Aaron Deter-Wolf
Tennessee Division of Archaeology
1216 Foster Avenue, Cole Building # 3
Nashville, TN  37210
615-741-1588 
Aaron.DeterWolf@tn.gov

Texas:

 

 

 

 

Patricia Mercado-Allinger
Texas Historical Commission
PO Box 12276
Austin TX 78711-2276
Tel: 512-463-8882
Fax: 512-463-8927
pat.mercado-allinger@thc.state.tx.us

Utah:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lori Hunsaker
Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer

Archaeology Division of State History

300 Rio grande Street

Salt Lake CIty, Utah 84101-1182

(801)533-3555
lhunsaker@utah.gov

Vermont:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Giovanna Peebles
State Archeologist
Division for Historic Preservation
National Life Bldg, Drawer 20
Montpelier VT 05620-0501
Tel: 802-828-3050
Fax: 802-828-3206
Giovanna.Peebles@state.vt.us

Virginia:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Michael B. Barber
Western Regional Preservation Office

962 Kime Lane

Salem, VA  24153
Tel: 540-387-5398
mike.barber@dhr.virginia.gov

C. Diane DeRoche
Chief Curator
Department of Historic Resources
2801 Kensington Ave
Richmond VA 23221
Tel: 804-482-6441
Fax: 804-367-2972
Dee.DeRoche@dhr.virginia.gov

Washington:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Laura Phillips, Collections Manager
Burke Museum
University of Washington
Seattle, Washington 98195-3010 
(206) 685-3849 
lphill@u.washington.edu 
www.washington.edu/burkemuseum/

West Virginia:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lora Lamarre
WV Historic Preservation Office
The Cultural Center
1900 Kanawha Blvd E
Charleston WV 25305-0300
Tel: 304-558-0220
Fax: 304-558-2779
lora.lamarre@wvculture.org

Wisconsin:

Bonnie L. Jancik
Mississippi Valley Archaeology Center
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
1725 State St
La Crosse WI 54601 Tel: 608-785-6473
Fax: 608-785-6474
bjancik@uwlax.edu

Wyoming:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Judy Wolf
State Historic Preservation Office
Department 3431
1000 E. University Avenue
Laramie, WY 82071
Tel: 307-766-5366
Fax: 307-766-4262
jkwolf@uwyo.edu

CANADA

Alberta:

British Columbia:

Manitoba:

New Brunswick:

Ontario:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Joanna Lea
432 South Waseosa Lake Rd RR1
Huntsville ON P1H-2J2
Canada
Fax: 705-385-1827
jlea@muskoka.com

Quebec:

Saskatchewan:

updated 3/12/2014