Public Education Committee
Network of State and Provincial Archaeology Education Coordinators

Check out our Facebook page here !

 

 
The links below are an aid for finding information about archaeology or contacting an archaeologist in your area. Click on the state (or on "Canada") for links to regional archaeology information.

Facilitator:Giovanna Peebles

Attention SAA Members! Are you interested in learing more about serving as a State Coordinator? Read more about it here.

:

Alabama:

F. Lindsey Gordon

fgordon@aalan.ua.edu

Alaska:

 

Fran Seager-Boss

Public Education Program

Alaska Archaeological Association

Phone: 907-982-0709

fseagerboss@gci.net
fseagerboss@kniktribe.org

 

Arizona:

Doug Gann

Preservation Archaeologist

Archaeology Southwest

Phone: 520-882-6946 ext. 12

dgann@archaeologysouthwest.org

http://www.archaeologysouthwest.org

 

Arkansas:

Melissa Zabecki Harvey, PhD, RPA, CIG 
Park Interpreter
Parkin Archeological State Park
P.O. Box 1110

Parkin, AR 72373
Phone: 870-755-2500 

Fax: 870-755-2676
mel.harvey@arkansas.gov
www.ArkansasStateParks.com/ParkinArcheological

California:

Edward J Knell, Ph.D., RPA

Associate Professor

Department of Anthropology

California State University, Fullerton

800 N. State College Blvd.

Fullerton, CA 92831

Phone: 657-278-5076

eknell@fullerton.edu

Colorado:

Emily M. Long, MA, RPA

Adjunct Instructor/CRM Archaeologist

Colorado Mesa University

elong@coloradomesa.edu

 

 Connecticut:

Brian D. Jones

State Archaeologist

Connecticut State Museum of Natural History

University of Connecticut

Phone: 860-486-5248

Brian.jones@uconn.edu

www.cac.uconn.edu

Mandy Ranslow

Archaeologist

Connecticut Department of Transportation

Office of Environmental Planning

Newington, CT 06111

Phone: 860-594-2929

mandy.ranslow@ct.gov

http://www.ct.gov/culturalresources

Delaware:

Heidi E. Krofft

DelDOT Archaeologist

Delaware Department of Transportation

P.O. Box 778

800 Bay Road

Dover, DE 19903

Phone: 302-760-2125

Fax: 302-739-8282

Heidi.Krofft@state.de.us

www.archaeology.deldot.gov


 District of Columbia:

Ruth Trocolli, Ph.D

City Archaeologist

DC Historic Preservation Office

1100 4th St. SW, Suite E650

Washington, DC 20024

Phone: 202-442-8836

ruth.trocolli@dc.gov

http://planning.dc.gov/hp

 

Florida:

Barbara A. Clark

Director, North Central and Northwest Regions

Florida Public Archaeology Network

Phone: 850-877-2206

BarbaraAClark@uwf.edu

FPAN.us

Georgia:

Catherine Long

Ft. Daniel Foundation

Lawrenceville, GA

Phone: 770-722-7730

diggergirl77@gmail.com

www.thefortdanielfoundation.org

 

Hawaii:

Melissa Kirkendall
Professor of Anthropology

University of Hawaii Maui College

310 Kaahumanu Ave.

Kahului, HI 96732

Phone: 808-984-3235

kirkenda@hawaii.edu

 

Idaho:

Mary Anne Davis

Associate State Archaeologist
Idaho State Historical Society

210 Main St
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: 208-488-7472
Fax: 208-334-2775
MaryAnne.Davis@ishs.idaho.gov

Illinois:

Illinois-Chicago area

Karen Poulson, M.A. RPA
Phone: 773-810-9620
klpoulson@netzero.com

Illinois-Central

Eve Hargrave

eve.hargrave@gmail.com

 

Indiana:

Amy Johnson
State Archaeologist and Archaeology Outreach Coordinator
Division of Historic Preservation and Archaeology
402 West Washington St., Room W274
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: 317-232-6982
ajohnson@dnr.IN.gov

Iowa:

              

Elizabeth Reetz

Education and Outreach Program Director
Office of the State Archaeologist
700 Clinton Street Building
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-384-0561
Fax: 319-384-0768
elizabeth-reetz@uiowa.edu

Kansas:

Virginia A. Wulfkuhle
Public Archeologist
Cultural Resources Division
Kansas State Historical Society
6425 SW 6th Ave.
Topeka, KS 66615
Phone: 785-272-8681 ext. 266
Fax: 785-272-8682
vwulfkuhle@kshs.org

Kentucky:

A. Gwynn Henderson
Kentucky Archaeological Survey
1020A Export St.
Lexington, KY 40506
Phone: 859-257-1919 or 859-257-1944
Fax: 859-323-1968
aghend2@uky.edu

Nicolas Laracuente
Kentucky Heritage Council
Site Protection Program Administrator
Phone: 502-564-7005
Nicolas.laracuente@ky.gov

Louisiana:

Chip McGimsey

State Archaeologist

Office of Cultural Development

Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism

P.O. Box 44247

Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Phone: 225-219-4598

cmcgimsey@crt.la.gov

Maine:

           

Ellie Cowie

Northeast Archaeology Research Center

Farmington, ME

Phone: 207-860-4032

cowie@nearchaeology.com

Gemma Hudgell

Northeast Archaeology Research Center

Farmington, ME

Phone: 207-806-4032

hudgell@nearchaeology.com

Maryland:

Sarah N. Janesko

Assistant Laboratory Manager

Veterans Curation Program

Phone: 301-641-7717

sarahjanesko@gmail.com

 

Massachusetts:

Ellen Savulis

Curator of Anthropology

Springfield Museums

21 Edwards Street

Springfield, MA 01103

Phone: 413-263-6800

Fax: 413-263-6884

esavulis@springfieldmuseums.org

 

Michigan:

Stacy Tchorzynski

State Historic Preservation Office and Department of Natural Resources

702 W. Kalamazoo

P.O. Box 30740

Lansing, MI 48909

Phone: 517-373-6358

tchorzynskis@michigan.gov

www.michigan.gov/shpo

 

Minnesota:

Amanda Gronhovd

State Archaeologist

Minnesota Office of the State Archaeologist

Phone: 651-725-2411

Amanda.Gronhovd@state.mn.us

 

Mississippi:

Tony Boudreaux

Director

Center for Archaeological Research

University of Mississippi

Phone: 662-915-7339

tboud@olemiss.edu

http://car.olemiss.edu

 

Missouri:

Michael J. Meyer

Senior Historic Preservation Specialist

Missouri Department of Transportation

P.O. Box 270

Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: 573-526-3560

Fax: 573-526-0068
Michael.Meyer@modot.mo.gov
http://www.modot.mo.gov/ehp/HistoricPreservation.htm

 

 

Montana:

Rebecca S. Timmons
President and Chair of Public Education Committee
Montana Archaeological Society
gotro7@outlook.com
http://www.mtarchaeologicalsociety.org/6101.html


Halcyon La Point
Custer National Forest
1310 Main St.
PO Box 50760
Billings, MT 59105
Phone: 405-657-6361
Fax: 405-657-6444
hlapoint@fs.fed.us

Nebraska:

Dawn Bringelson
Archeologist/Volunteer and Outreach Coordinator
Midwest Archeological Center
100 Centennial Mall North, Room 474
Lincoln, NE 68508
Phone: 402-437-5392 ext. 105
Dawn_Bringelson@nps.gov
www.nps.gov/mwac

Nevada:

 

New Hampshire:

Richard Boisvert
State Archaeologist
NH Div. of Historical Resources
19 Pillsbury St. 2nd Floor
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-271-6433
Fax: 603-271-3433
richard.a.boisvert@dcr.nh.gov

New Jersey:

David C. Mudge
New Jersey Department of Transportation
2021 Old York Rd
Burlington, NJ 08016
Phone : 609-530-2508
Fax: 609-530-5305
arkydave@aol.com

New Mexico:

Tonya Fallis

tgfallis@gmail.com

New York:

Daniel E. Mazeau

Principal Investigator (Archaeology) and

Cultural Education Specialist

Cultural Resource Survey Program
New York State Museum
Albany, NY  12230
Phone: 518-408-1722
dmazeau@mail.nysed.gov

North Carolina:

Mary Beth Fitts

Assistant State Archaeologist

Office of State Archaeology
North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources

Phone: 919-807-6554

MaryBeth.Fitts@ncdcr.gov

https://www.facebook.com/State-Archives-of-North-Carolina-119904548024750

North Dakota:

Melinda Leach
Professor, Dept. of Anthropology
PO Box 8374

University of North Dakota

Stop 8374, 236 Centennial Dr.
Grand Forks, ND 58202
Phone: 701-777-3697
melinda.leach@email.und.edu

Ohio:

Brad Lepper

Curator of Archaeology

Ohio History Connection
Phone: 614-298-2064

blepper@ohiohistory.org

https://www.ohiohistory.org/learn/collections/archaeology

Oklahoma:

Robert L. Brooks
University of Oklahoma
Archeological Survey
111 E Chesapeake, Bldg 134
Norman, OK 73019
Phone: 405-325-7211
Fax: 405-325-7604
rbrooks@ou.edu

Oregon:

 

Pennsylvania:

Beverly Chiarulli
Dept. of Anthropology
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
McElhaney Hall G-12
Indiana, PA 15206
Phone: 724-357-2659
Fax: 724-357-7637
bev@chiarulli.net

Puerto Rico:

 

Rhode Island:

         

Timothy Ives

State Archaeologist

Rhode Island Historical Presrevation and Heritage Commission

Old State House

150 Benefit St.

Providence, RI 02903

Phone: 401-222-4139

Timothy.Ives@preservation.ri.gov

South Carolina:

Erika Shofner

Executive Director

South Carolina Archaeology Public Outreach Division

Phone: 843-319-7597

scapod@gmail.com

 

Meg Gaillard

Heritage Trust Archaeologist

Land, Water and Conservation Division
South Carolina Department of Natural Resources
Rembert C. Dennis Building, Suite 345-E
P.O. Box 167

1000 Assembly Street

Columbia, SC 29202

Phone: 803-734-0658

GaillardM@dnr.sc.gov

 

South Dakota:

 

Mike Fosha

Assistant State Archaeologist

South Dakota State Historical Society

Phone: 605-394-1936

Mike.fosha@state.sd.us

Tennessee:

Mike C. Moore

State Archaeologist and Director

Tennessee Division of Archaeology

Phone: 615-741-1588 ext. 109

Mike.C.Moore@tn.gov

http://www.tn.gov/environment/section/archaeology

 

Texas:

Rebecca (Becky) Shelton
Regional Archeologist/Project Reviewer
Texas Historical Commission
PO Box 12276
Austin, TX 78722
Phone: 512-463-2276
www.thc.texas.gov

Veronica M. Arias

Curator of Archeology

Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum

Phone: 806-651-5231

varias@pphm.wtamu.edu

www.panhandleplains.org

Utah:

 

Vermont:

Brennan Gauthier
VTrans Archaeologist  
Vermont Agency of Transportation 
Project Delivery Bureau 
Environmental Section 
1 National Life Drive 
Montpelier, VT  
Phone: 802-828-3965
Fax: 802-828-2334 

Brennan.Gauthier@vermont.gov

 

Jess Robinson

State Archaeologist

State of Vermont

Division for Historic Preservation

1 National Life Drive 
Montpelier, VT

Phone: 802-272-2509

jess.robinson@vermont.gov

 

Virginia:

Elizabeth Moore

Curator of Archaeology

Virginia Musuem of Natural History

21 Starling Avenue

Martinsburg, VA  24112

Elizabeth.Moore@vmnh.virginia.gov

 

Bernard Means

Virtual Curation Lab

Virginia Commonwealth University

817 W. Franklin 

Richmond, VA 23284

Phone: 804-827-1985

Fax: 804-828-0127

BKMeans@vcu.edu

 

Washington:

 

West Virginia:

 

Wisconsin:

Bonnie L. Jancik
Mississippi Valley Archaeology Center
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
1725 State St
La Crosse WI 54601

Tel: 608-785-6473
Fax: 608-785-6474
bjancik@uwlax.edu

http://mvac.uwlax.edu

Wyoming:

Judy Wolf
State Historic Preservation Office
Department 3431
1000 E. University Avenue
Laramie, WY 82071
Tel: 307-766-5366
Fax: 307-766-4262
jkwolf@uwyo.edu

 

CANADA

Alberta:

 

British Columbia:

 

Emily Wilkerson

Golder Associates Ltd.

Vancouver, BC

Phone: 604-379-7214

emily_wilkerson@golder.com

Manitoba:

 

New Brunswick:

 

Ontario:

 

Rachel Kulick

Ph.D. Candidate, Art History and Archaeology 

Department of Art 

University of Toronto

rachel.kulick@mail.utoronto.ca

Quebec:

 

Saskatchewan:

Updated 6/28/2017