Public Archaeology Awards Bestowed by Archaeology Concerns...

The following awards are given by archaeological societies to honor individuals and/or specific achievements in archaeology education, avocational archaeology, resource protection, and media coverage.

Society for American Archaeology (SAA)




SAA Excellence in Public Education Award
Recognizes institutions or individuals who bring about an improved public understanding and appreciation of anthropology and archaeology.

SAA Public Service Award
Recognizes the important contributions of a public figure to the protection & preservation of cultural resources.

SAA Gene S. Stuart Award
Given each year for the best newspaper article or series focusing on archaeology.

SAA Crabtree Award
Recognizes significant contributions to archaeology in the Americas made by individual who has had little if any formal training in archaeology and little if any wage or salary as an archaeologist.  For a link to a detailed description of past winners, as well as more information on amateur certification programs, see the list maintained at the NPS web site.

SAA Book Award for Public Understanding of Archaeology

SAA State Archaeology Week Poster Award
Presented to the state or community whose poster in honor of archaeology week best exemplifies the vibrant role played by the study of archaeology within the community. View the archive of previous award-winning posters and see this year's poster competition winner and runner ups.

British Archaeological Awards (BAA)




The British Archaeological Awards

The British Archaeological Awards are a showcase for the best in UK archaeology and a central event in the archaeological calendar.

Established in 1976, they now encompass six Awards, covering every aspect of UK archaeology: best archaeological project, best community archaeology project, best archaeological book, best representation of archaeology in the media, best archaeological innovation, and best archaeological discovery.

The Society for Industrial Archaeology (IAS)




General Tools Award

For distinguished service to the cause of industrial archeology.

Society for Historical Archaeology




SHA Award of Merit



Established in 1988 this award recognizes specific achievements of individuals and organizations that have furthered the cause of historical archaeology. Although the award is given for scholarly as well as other contributions, the honorees need not be professional archaeologists nor members of The Society for Historical Archaeology.

SHA James Deetz Book Award

The Deetz Award is intended to recognize books and monographs that are similarly well written and accessible to all potential readers.

Archaeological Institute of America (AIA)




Outstanding Public Service Award

Recognizes exceptional contributions that promote public understanding of, interest in, and support for archaeology and the preservation of the archaeological record.

TAC International Film and Video Festival




 The Archaeology Channel International Film and Video Festival

This festival is held each May in Eugene, Oregon, USA. The festival exhibits the wonderful diversity of human cultures past and present in the exploration of our place in history and in our world. The festival also helps to promote this genre, showcasing the makers of film and video productions about archaeology and indigenous peoples.

Preserve America Presidential Awards





The Preserve America Presidential Awards

These awards are part of a White House program to celebrate and preserve national heritage. First Lady Laura Bush is Honorary Chair of Preserve America. Four Preserve America Presidential Awards are given each year at a White House ceremony-two for projects or programs that advance heritage tourism and two for outstanding privately-funded historic preservation projects or programs. Organizations, businesses, government entities, and individuals are eligible for an award. The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) accepts the nominations which should honor exemplary achievements in protection, preservation, sustainable use, and interpretation of heritage assets. Mission San Luis, the 17th century western capital of Spanish Florida and a nationally significant archaeological site and public park and museum, received a PA Presidential Award in 2006. 

The Marothodi Institute for Archaeology in Africa




Marothodi Seal of Hope

In an effort to encourage inclusion of local communities as stakeholders in projects on inhabited or ancestral landscapes, the Marothodi Institute for Archaeology in Africa presents the Marothodi Seal of Hope. This award is presented to research efforts that demonstrate a commitment to benefiting communities.

Governor's Archaeology Advisory Commission's Awards in Public Archaeology (Arizona)




Arizona Archaeology Awareness Month

Each year, this Commission recognizes individuals and/or programs that have contributed time and energy to promoting the protection and preservation of, and education about, Arizona's non-renewable archaeological resources. Four awards are presented each year in the categories of professional archaeologist, avocational archaeologist, Site Steward, and Program/Other category. The award ceremony is held at the Archaeology Expo each year.

Ottawa Chapter, Ontario Archaeological Society (OAS)

The Peggy Armstrong Public Archaeology Award

(Ottawa Chapter, Ontario Archaeological Society)

Maryland Historical Trust Preservation Awards




  Educational Excellence Awards

These awards are presented to individuals, organizations or agencies for projects, programs, curricula, exhibits and related materials that directly serve to educate the public about any aspect of Maryland’s heritage.  Eligible materials can include, but are not limited to, outstanding videotapes, public archaeological digs, creative training programs, innovative museum exhibits, informational brochures and technical briefs.




Do you have information about an award or award recipient that can be featured here? Contact us using our feedback page.


Updated 08.31.12