Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page

SAA Native American Scholarship Programs and Fundraising Activities for the Native American Scholarship Fund

Tristine Lee Smart and Joe Watkins

What do Choctaw ballsticks, a check-box on the SAA membership renewal form, and royalties from the AltaMira Press publication, Native Americans and Archaeologists: Stepping Stones to Common Ground, have in common? The answer: They are all part of the efforts to raise money for the SAA Native American Scholarship Fund (NASF). We want to thank the many people who have contributed directly to the Fund, donated book royalties, or participated in the Native American Scholarships Committee (NASC) silent auction held at the 1998 SAA Annual Meeting in Seattle.

SAA created the Native American Scholarship Fund in 1988 to support Native people who are interested in studying archaeology. In 1997, the SAA Board established two Native American Scholarship programs to be funded by the NASF. The Arthur C. Parker Scholarship provides up to $1,500 to support training in archaeological methods for current students and personnel of tribal or other Native cultural preservation programs. This scholarship is named in honor of the first president of SAA, who was of Seneca ancestry through his father's family. The second scholarship program, specifically targeting graduate education, is not yet funded.

Initially, applicants and nominees for the Parker Scholarship were Native Americans or Native Hawaiians. However, last November, the SAA Board decided to broaden eligibility to include Native peoples from the U.S. Trust Territories and Canada. The NASC is now considering the possibility of proposing a third scholarship program specifically for Native peoples from Latin America. We would welcome feedback from SAA members on this idea, sent to the address below. Do you feel it would be a worthwhile effort? If so, what type of program might be most helpful? Should this program target students at a particular stage in their education, or should it be more inclusive?

The first Arthur C. Parker Scholarship was awarded in spring 1998 to Angela Steiner Neller, a Ph.D. student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. In addition, the National Science Foundation (NSF) awarded a Small Grant for Exploratory Research to SAA to provide $1,500 each for three other people who applied for the 1998 Parker Scholarship. We want to thank NSF for this support.

The Native American Scholarship Fund can only support a biannual award of $1,500. However, thanks to the success of the NASC silent auction held in Seattle in 1998, we are able to offer the Parker Scholarship again in 1999. For more information about this scholarship and the application or nomination procedures, contact SAA headquarters, at the address below. Application or nomination materials must be postmarked no later than February 13, 1999.

To build the NASF to the level at which it can fully support an annual award of the Parker Scholarship and the second scholarship program for graduate education, we could use your help. The NASC will be holding a second silent auction at the upcoming SAA Annual Meeting in Chicago. Please stop by the NASC silent auction booth in the SAA exhibit hall and consider placing a bid. It's fun, and if your bid is the highest, you will be contributing to the NASF. Donations to the silent auction also would be greatly appreciated. Last year's contributions for the silent auction included used and new books, jewelry, equipment and services used by archaeologists, Native American craft items, and artwork. This year, we are planning a special auction of donated T-shirts, and we will be giving people the opportunity to vote for their favorites. We would welcome contributions of T-shirts or any other item that an archaeologist might like to have.

The NASC takes this opportunity to thank the following donors as well as those who donated anonymously for their generous contributions to the 1998 silent auction.

Marjorie Akin
AltaMira Press
Archaeology Magazine
Archmat, Inc.
Mel Bohleen
Cambridge University Press
Kenneth Carleton
Cultural Resource Technologies
Hester Davis
Francoise Drayer
Ann M. Early
Lynn Fisher
Douglas Frink
Annette Fromm
Phil R. Geib
Rick George
George Gumerman
Jim Huffman
Saber Jackson
Fred Jaehnig
Marvin Keller
D. Bambi Kraus
Light Impressions
William Lipe
Al Livingston
Julie Longenecker
Michael E. Macko
Marshalltown Trowel Co.
Barbara Mills
Northland Research, Inc.
James H. Payne
Pictures of Record
Mary June-el Piper
Planet Hollywood, Seattle
Navajo Nation Museum
Harriett Sandoval
Tristine Lee Smart
Kimberly Spurr
Darby Stapp
Sheila Harrington Stump
Nina Swidler
Dan Timmons
University of Alabama Press
University of Arizona Press
University of Michigan Museum of Anthropology Publications
University of Oklahoma Press
University of Pennsylvania Museum
Jeff Van Pelt
Miranda Warburton
Joe Watkins
John R. Welch
White Mountain Apache Tribe Heritage Program
White Mountain Apache Tribe

If you are interested in contributing to the 1999 silent auction or if you would like to comment on establishing a scholarship program for Native peoples in Latin America, contact Joe Watkins ( or Tristine Lee Smart ( via email or c/o SAA. For more information about the Arthur C. Parker Scholarship or about donating to the Native American Scholarship Fund, contact SAA, 900 Second Street NE, #12, Washington, DC 20002-3557, (202) 789-8200, email

Tristine Lee Smart and Joe Watkins are members of the Native American Scholarships Committee. Smart is a graduate student at the Museum of Anthropology, University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Michigan, and Watkins is with the Bureau of Indian Affairs in Oklahoma.

Return to top of page

Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page