Previous pageTable of ContentsNext Page

Funding for Scholarships for Native Peoples from the United States and Canada

Tristine Lee Smart, Barbara Mills, and Joe Watkins

Thanks to a grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the many donors to the SAA Native American Scholarship Fund (NASF), SAA awarded four scholarships for Native peoples from the United States and Canada in 1999 and will be awarding four more scholarships in both 2000 and 2001. The members of the Native American Scholarships Committee (NASC) are grateful to NSF for its generous support for archaeological training for Native peoples. We also want to thank all the individuals and organizations who have contributed directly to the NASF, donated book royalties, or participated in the NASC silent auctions held at the 1998 and 1999 SAA Annual Meetings.

SAA created the Native American Scholarship Fund in 1988 to support Native people interested in studying archaeology. In 1997, the SAA Board established two Native American Scholarship programs to be funded by the NASF. The Arthur C. Parker Scholarship provides $1,500 to support training in archaeological methods for current students and personnel of tribal or other Native cultural preservation programs. This scholarship is named in honor of the first president of SAA, who was of Seneca ancestry through his father's family. The second scholarship program, specifically targeting graduate education, is not yet funded. In 1998, the SAA Board decided that Native peoples from both the United States, including U.S. Trust Territories, and Canada would be eligible for the Parker Scholarship. In 1999, SAA received a grant from the National Science Foundation to provide additional scholarships to support training in archaeological methods for Native peoples. These are called the NSF Scholarships for Archaeological Training for Native Americans and Native Hawaiians. In each year from 1999 to 2001, the grant provides funding for three NSF scholarships of $3,000 each and a $1,500 NSF scholarship for the recipient of the $1,500 SAA Arthur C. Parker Scholarship.

For more information about these scholarships, contact SAA at the address given below. Application or nomination materials for the 2000 scholarships must be postmarked no later than February 15, 2000. Through the generosity of many donors, the Native American Scholarship Fund has nearly reached the level at which it can fully support an annual award of $1,500. Money raised by the silent auctions held at the SAA Annual Meeting has been used to supplement the funds generated by the NASF, allowing SAA to offer a $1,500 Parker Scholarship annually. To build the Native American Scholarship Fund to the level at which it can fully support the annual Arthur C. Parker Scholarship and the second scholarship program for graduate education, we need your help. Donations to the NASF from individuals and organizations are always most welcome. In addition, the NASC will be holding its third silent auction at the upcoming SAA Annual Meeting in Philadelphia. If you are attending the Annual Meeting, please stop by the NASC silent auction booth in the SAA Exhibit Hall and consider placing a bid. It's fun, and if your bid is the highest, you will be contributing to the Native American Scholarship Fund. Donations to the silent auction also would be greatly appreciated. Contributions for the silent auction last year included used and new books, jewelry, equipment and services used by archaeologists, Native American craft items, artwork, and t-shirts, among others. Anything that an archaeologist might like to have would be welcome. This year, as a special feature, we would like to showcase arts and craft items made by archaeologists. We hope our talented colleagues will consider donating something they have created.

The NASC would like to take this opportunity to thank the following donors as well as those who donated anonymously for their generous contributions to the 1999 silent auction in Chicago. AltaMira Press; American Rock Art Research Association; Archaeological Institute of America; Archaeology Consulting Team, Inc.; Archaeology Magazine; Arkansas Archeological Society; G. Lennis Berlin; Jane Bock; Pete Bungart; Ken Carleton; Center for Indigenous Research; Chacmool Archaeological Association of the University of Calgary; Christopher Chippindale; Cheryl Claassen/Las Americas; Lanita Collette; Cultural Resource Technologies; C U Recycling; D'Arcy McNickle; Center for American Indian History; Newberry Library; Hester Davis; Douglas Dickenson; Françoise Drayer; Helen Fairley; T. J. Ferguson; Phil Geib; Jeff Greyeyes; George J. Gumerman; Jonathan Haas; HRM Books; Nancy Rose; Hunt Johna Hutira; J. Brantley Jackson; Marvin Keller; Anthony L. Klesert; Hank Koerper; Janet E. Levy; William D. Lipe; William Longacre; Nancy McElroy/Colorado Dance Alliance; Patrick McQuillan; Kostalena Michelaki; Midcontinental Journal of Archaeology; Barbara Mills; Milwaukee Public Museum; Vera Morgan; OCR Carbon Dating, Inc.; Joan Rech; Duncan Rinehart; Michael Schiffer; Joan S. Schneider; Shoshone-Bannock Tribes of the Fort Hall Indian Reservation, Idaho, Tribal Chairman Duane Thompson; Tristine Lee Smart; Rodney Snedeker; Society for Historical Archaeology; South Carolina Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology; Kimberly Spurr; Ann Tippitt; Paul Todd; University Museum Publications; University of Pennsylvania Museum; University of Colorado Office of Community Relations; Miranda Warburton; Washington State University Department of Anthropology; Isabella Watkins; and Joe Watkins.

Potters attending the 72nd Pecos Conference in August 1999 raised $798 for the Native American Scholarship Fund. Pottery replication and firing has become a traditional event at Pecos, which is followed by a silent auction of the successfully fired pots. This year the NASF was the recipient of the funds raised. Many thanks to the potters who contributed to this event: Kurt Anschuetz, Glenna Dean, David Eck, Charles Gilbert, Michael Schiffer, and Timothy Seaman.

If you are interested in contributing to the 2000 silent auction, contact Joe Watkins ( or Tristine Lee Smart ( via email or in care of SAA. For more information about the Arthur C. Parker and NSF Scholarships or about donating to the Native American Scholarship Fund, contact SAA at 900 Second St. NE #12, Washington, DC 20002-3557, tel: (202) 789-8200, email: ·

Tristine Lee Smart is vice-chair of the NASC, Barbara Mills is at the University of Arizona, and Joe Watkins, chair of the NASC, is agency archaeologist, Bureau of Indian Affairs-Anadarko Agency.

back to top

Previous pageTable of ContentsNext Page