Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page


Geophysical Exploration for Archaeology is a 729-page introduction to geophysical survey for archaeologists and cultural resource managers. It also has a tutorial on survey procedures and includes suggestions about how excavations can be done after a geophysical survey. The instruments discussed are ground-penetrating radars, magnetometers, and conductivity and resistivity meters. The publication illustrates the results of a geophysical survey done at the U.S. Civil War battlefield at Petersburg, Va. It is available at no cost as a microfiche from the author, Bruce Bevan, Geosight, P.O. Box 135, Pitman, NJ 08071.

The Texas Historical Commission conducted an underwater archaeology project under the direction of Barto Arnold, state marine archaeologist, during the summer of 1995 and discovered the wreck of the Belle. The 65-ton barque longue was lost in 1686 in Matagorda Bay, Texas, as the French explorer La Salle unsuccessfully attempted to found a colony on the coast of the Gulf of Mexico. Test excavations revealed well-preserved hull remains, other organic artifacts, as well as the more durable artifacts typically found on shipwreck sites. In January 1996 the Texas Historical Commission returned to test the site in order to fully delineate the extent of the hull remains. This information was necessary in order to plan exactly where and how large a coffer dam to build. The coffer dam will enable marine archaeologists to pump out the interior and excavate without the hindrance of near zero visibility. Additional information about this project can be obtained from the La Salle Shipwreck Project's WEB site at

The Society of Professional Archeologists (SOPA) this year honored several persons who have been instrumental in advancing the profession of archaeology and in preserving America's archaeological heritage. Awards were presented at SOPA's annual business meeting on April 11, 1996, held in conjunction with the SAA meetings at New Orleans. The John F. Seibeling Award, SOPA's highest honor, was bestowed on Loretta Neumann, president of the legislative consulting firm CEHP, Inc. The Seiberling Award, named for the former U.S. Representative and strong supporter of archaeological interests, recognizes outstanding leadership at the national level in the conservation of threatened cultural resources. Neumann was instrumental in shaping some of America's most important historic preservation statutes and has provided timely counsel to several major archaeological societies. SOPA's 1996 Distinguished Service Award was presented to Brian M. Fagan, University of California-Santa Barbara. An innovative teacher, prolific author, and captivating public speaker, Fagan was cited for his devotion to informing students and the public at large about the methods and results of archaeology. He was also recognized for having played a substantial role in defining meaningful issues for the profession to consider. Peter A. Young of Archaeology magazine was named the recipient of SOPA's Special Achievement Award for 1996. As editor-in-chief of that popular periodical, he has broadened the magazine's topical content and expanded its readership. Young was commended for his role in acquainting readers with the full range of archeological research in today's world. Finally, SOPA conferred Emeritus Status and Life Membership on two of its most distinguished senior members: John L. Cotter and Charles R. McGimsey III. The citation noted Cotter's contribution to the development of historical archaeology as a discipline and his influence on cultural resources management in the National Park Service. McGimsey was lauded for his early and continuing advocacy of public archaeology, as well as his part in founding SOPA.

The H. John Heinz III Charitable Trust Grants for Archaeological Field Work in Latin America announces its grant program for 1997. This program will fund four to six scholars to conduct archaeological research in Latin America. Applications for dissertation research will not be considered. The maximum amount of the award is $8,000. The deadline for submission is November 15, 1996, and notification of the award will be made by March 1997. For complete information write to Rose Gibson, H. John Heinz III Charitable Trust, 32 CNG Tower, 625 Liberty Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15219. If you have any questions, please contact James B. Richardson III, Chairman, Division of Anthropology, Carnegie Museum of Natural History, (412) 665-2601, fax (412) 665-2751.

Announcing Time Traveler, a Web site that caters to the widest possible archaeological audience with a common interest in prehistory. This site provides a forum for professional and avocational archaeologist alike to share and explore the prehistoric world with the general public. Part magazine, part newsletter, and part forum, this Web site will be eclectic in its coverage and will evolve with the interests and demands of its audience. Submit feature-length articles with graphics (no more than 800 words) to The WWW address is

Shipwrecks of the Great Lakes is a conference sponsored by the Minnesota State Historic Preservation Office in cooperation with the Gales of November Conference, October 10-12, 1996, at the Radisson Hotel, Duluth, Minn. The conference is aimed at a wide audience of archaeologists, historians, sport divers, and the interested public. Shipwreck investigations in the Great Lakes will be the focus of the conference, but other aspects of underwater archaeology and the history of water transportation in the midcontinent will also be featured. A principal goal of the conference is to explore methods of shipwreck preservation and interpretation. Those interested in presenting papers should contact Scott Anfinson; those interested in registration information should contact Michele Decker. Both are at the Minnesota SHPO (612) 296-5434.

Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page