Login Join | Donate | Annual Meeting | Career Center | SAA News | Marketplace | Contact   Search
 Cheryl L. Wase Memorial Scholarship Minimize

Archaeologist Cheryl L. Wase spent most of her career working in the high deserts of New Mexico. She died at the too-young age of 53 in 2004. When her mother, Jane Francy Wase, passed away in 2013, she left a bequest to the Society for American Archaeology to endow a memorial scholarship in her daughter’s name. This generous memorial bequest brings together three major themes that defined Cheryl Wase’s life: her dedication to archaeology, her love for New Mexico, and her constant willingness to help and support other women. 

The SAA Cheryl L. Wase Memorial Scholarship for the Study of Archaeology provides funding for undergraduate education in archaeology. It is awarded to women who are residents of New Mexico and pursuing a Bachelor’s Degree in Anthropology with a specialization in archaeology from a fully accredited university in the state of New Mexico (Eastern New Mexico University, New Mexico State University, or University of New Mexico). It is overseen by the Wase Scholarship Committee of the SAA.

The Wase Scholarships cover the cost of tuition/course fees and books for all classroom and field-based courses included in an accredited curriculum to earn a Bachelor’s degree in Anthropology with a Emphasis/Focus/Concentration in Archaeology.  A specialization in archaeology determined to be an Emphasis in Archaeology (ENMU students), a focus on Archaeology (NMSU students) or a Concentration in Archaeology (UNM students). The Scholarship is renewable for up to five years, as long as the recipient remains enrolled, maintains a 3.0 grade point average, and continues to pursue a Bachelor’s Degree in Anthropology with a specialization in Archaeology.

Applications are encouraged from women at least 18 years of age who are New Mexico residents and enrolled at (or planning to enroll at) Eastern New Mexico University, New Mexico State University, or the University of New Mexico, and majoring in or intending to major in Anthropology with a specialization in Archaeology in pursuit of a Bachelor’s Degree (B.A. or B.S.). 

For questions about the application process, please contact the Wase Scholarship Committee Chair, Kathy Durand Gore, Professor of Anthropology, Department of Anthropology and Applied Archaeology Chair, Eastern New Mexico State University.

Download the Wase Scholarship application.

Annual Application Deadline:

2017 Cheryl L. Wase Memorial Scholarship Recipients

Esmeralda Ferreles
Eden Franz
Carol Woodland

2016 Cheryl L. Wase Memorial Scholarship Recipients

Kayla Brown--New Mexico State University
Keighley Hastings--New Mexico State University
Kailey Martinez--New Mexico State University
Samantha Ascoli--University of New Mexico