Login Join | Donate | Annual Meeting | Career Center | SAA News | Marketplace | Contact   Search
 Public Service Award Minimize

Public Service Award

The Public Service Award was initiated in 1983 to recognize the important contributions of a public figure to the protection and  preservation of cultural resources. It is presented when appropriate, regardless of political affiliation, to those who have taken a lead or made a major contribution to preserving the past.


2017     Abdel Kader Haidara, Fatou Bensouda

2015     Elsa Chang, Arlene Fleming, Glenn Morgan, Jonathan Renshaw

2008    The Arc of Appalachia Preserve System, The Archaeological Conservancy, Wilderness East, and Ross County Parks Department (Chillicothe, Ohio)

2005    Senator Jeff Bingaman (New Mexico)

2004    Paula Desio

2003    Representative Leonard Boswell (Iowa)

2002    none

2001    Wayne Dance

1999    Secretary of the Interior Bruce Babbitt

1998    Loretta F. Neumann

1997    Representative Phil English (Pennsylvania)

1996    Representative Bill Richardson (New Mexico)

1995    Grand Canyon Trust

1994    James Beck, Deborah Daniels, Jeffrey Kent, Larry Mackey, and Scott Newman

1993    Constance Werner Ramirez

1992    The Archaeological Conservancy

1991    Secretary of the Interior Manuel Lujan Jr.

1990    Representative Morris K. Udall (Arizona)

1989    Senator Peter V. Domenici (New Mexico)

1988    Representative Charles E. Bennett (Florida)

1987    Representative John F. Seiberling (Ohio)

1986    Secretary of the Interior Donald P. Hodel

1985    Senator James C. Wright Jr. (Texas)

1984    Senator James A. McClure (Idaho)

1983    Senator Spark M. Matsunaga (Hawaii) and Representative Donald J. Pease (Ohio)